Quilting – Going Where I’ve Never Gone Before

I just recently became a quilter.  When my grandson was born, it was something I was just driven to do.  My mother never quilted – said she didn’t have the patience – but that was before the days of machine quilting.  I was actually out on YouTube looking for a tutorial on making my own bias tape for the miles of it needed for his nursery, and I came across a quilting video from the Missouri Star Quilt Company on how to bind a quilt.  I made a pot of coffee and spent the morning with my new bff Jenny Doan!  She’s an absolutely amazing instructor and she makes you feel like you can do anything!  So I stop by the MSQC Quilter’s Daily Deal every morning and that’s how I’ve built my stash and gotten some pretty cool rulers.

My first project I thought I could handle Jenny taught me was this Christmas Table Runner with Fa-La-La.  I stitched in the ditch and it came out kinda lumpy, but I really like it.Fa La La Charm Pack Dec 11

Well, the MSQC website landed me somehow on the Moda Bake Shop website and one post last year was a Moda Stash Link Party.  From there I found MADE and StitcheryDickoryDock, SewMamaSew, and TracieJay Quilts (just a few my faves I start my day with).  The Internet is an amazing thing, isn’t it?

Feeling incredibly ambitious after that table runner, I decided to tackle this.  It’s Gallantly Streaming and OMG – it was SO HARD!!  I knew absolutely nothing about how important a 1/4 inch seam was.  Most of the tips are missing off the stars, and this thing is a complete mess.  I’ve still yet to quilt it.  It’s just one of those UFOs (unfinished objects) that I can’t bring myself to spend the money on to get it quilted or waste the time and money to rent the long arm myself at my local quilt shop.Gallantly Streaming

After I was finished licking my wounds from Gallantly Streaming, on MBS one day there was this Pinwheel Baby Quilt with Prairie Points (another new thing for me).  I had a charm pack from MSQC in 10 Little Things and it was perfect for this little treasure o’mine.  Perfect quilt?  Nope.  An heirloom for my perfect little man?  You bet!10ltlthngs

Amy Gibson from StitcheryDickoryDoc has a Block of the Month going on with the promise that I’ll have a beautiful quilt at the end of the year.  Of course I couldn’t resist.  Working full time, I find this to be a perfect way to get some quilting blocks in without feeling like I’m behind or overwhelmed.  One thing about quilting, every project makes you better.  This is definitely a skill where you improve with practice.

January1-Jan

February – a paper piecing nightmare.  It came out right, but it wasn’t fun.  Paper piecing is something my analytical brain has a hard time wrapping around.2-Feb

March – a blessedly easy Forget Me Not.3-Mar

One very cool thing about quilting?  It finds a way to bring a group together.  Here is a  a gorgeous little number called Old Glory I found on MBS one day and I thought it would be a great project for all the Daughters in my DAR group to tackle.  We all took a part of it and would bring our completed strips to meetings and had so much fun putting it together.  I just finished the borders yesterday and it’s ready to go to the long armer.  I took a class at Scrappy Quilter and will do this one myself I think. OldGloryQuilt When it’s finished, we’ll donate it to a wounded vet at the Center for the Intrepid at Brooke Army Medical Center in San Antonio.  Come to think of it, maybe that’s a good place for my Gallantly Streaming to land.  Perhaps I’ll finish it afterall.

Leave a Reply

