Meet My Machine!

This is my no-name Brother CS6000i and I adore this machine.  I bought it back in 2007 and it’s the first computerized machine I’ve ever owned.  Now that I’ve had one, I’ll never go back.  I know there are purists out there who love those vintage machines, but until you’ve made computerized button holes, you don’t know sewing heaven.
This machine does a good job of blurring the lines between being a “sewing” machine and a machine for quilting.  I paid about $250 back then but it’s down to like $179 on Amazon now so you get the best bang for your buck with Brother.  It came with lots of accessories including a walking foot, FMQ (darning) foot, button hole foot, and the extended table which is good for piecing.  But the needle down feature was a pleasant surprise for sewing.  I rarely, if ever, roll the hand wheel to place the needle either up or down, and the auto needle threader took some getting used to but now that I’ve gotten the hang of it, it too is sewing heaven.    One cool feature is auto-sewing – if you disconnect the foot control, with the press of a button, this thing takes off!  So you can FMQ to your heart’s content at a constant speed for even stitches (slow, medium, or fast) and you never have to worry about your foot/leg getting tired of pressing the foot control for 10 minutes straight.  One thing I’d like that it doesn’t have is an auto thread cutter.  After a manual machine, all these new-fangled features take some getting used to, but once you’re on board, you will lovingly place your vintage machine on the shelf and never look back.

My first machine was a 1990’s Singer I nicknamed “That POS Sewing Machine” and being a lady I literally said P-O-S vs. what it stands for, but you get the idea.  I can’t count the number of trips to the repairman for tension issues, feed dog issues, timing issues,…just issues.  I hated it.  And when I’d finally had enough, I left it at Goodwill feeling bad for whoever got it after me.  I suspect it just didn’t like me so who knows?  I hoped it would be better with a new owner.

This is my 2nd serger, the Brother Lock 1034D .  My first one was a White Speedylock and I really didn’t care for that machine.  It was hard to thread (I had to watch the video 3 times to learn how to thread it) and once I fiddled with the tension, it was like I couldn’t ever get it right again.  The bulb burned out and I couldn’t replace it because I couldn’t get to it (has to be replaced by a repairman) so that was the final straw and I gave it away, again hoping it found contentment elsewhere.  

My happiness with my Brother sewing machine and the reasonable price is why I chose this model for my new serger and I love it!  It’s SO much easier to thread and sews like a dream.  I’ve had it several years and I’m just now treading into the world of sewing with knits.  Now while working with interlock knits and sheer fabrics, I rarely use my traditional sewing machine except for hems.   I wish the fashion pattern companies would add serging instructions in their pattern directions telling you when to finish an edge before sewing certain pieces together or alternative serge sewing instructions.  Sometimes I’ll finish an edge I didn’t need to or get garment pieces together on my regular machine that are impossible to finish cleanly on the serger and I should have serged a piece of fabric first.  It’s very frustrating.

In my perfect world, if money were no object, I’d have the Brother Dreamweaver Quilting & Sewing Machine.  I can’t wait to try it out one day.

Here’s where the magic happens!  My Decompression Room and I’d rather be here than just about anywhere else.  It’s where I go in my head when I’m having a bad day or just need some peace.I’m begging hubby to build me a cornice I can cover with some sewing-room themed fabric over the window and get rid of the dated swag.Hubby made the thread caddy for me and the polyester batting on the design wall is so cool.  Fabric just “hangs” there and sticks to it perfectly.  I love the L shaped set up I have and got the table on an after-Christmas sale from JoAnn’s.com.  When I’m quilting, I set the serger on the floor and pull the homemade ironing board (standing on end under the serger) up so I can iron as I go while piecing.I’m 5’9″ so I try to use all the space I can can and high shelves work for me.The Fiesta Dress is almost finished!  All I have left is the hem and the petticoat.

So that’s my sewing world!

One thought on “Meet My Machine!

  1. I almost bought that Brother machine! I was seriously considering it.
    Thank you so much for writing up about it – and for linking it to our blog hop! I really enjoyed your post 🙂
    Erin

Leave a Reply

